The Bridge

I remember when the I-35 bridge collapsed. Minnesotans, you’ll remember too. It was all over the news.

And I have a confession to make: I was “one of those people” who was hesitant to go over bridges for a while afterwards. Crazy, I know; but I couldn’t shake the thought that even though there was a one-in-a-million chance I’d be on a bridge when it collapsed, it could happen. I had just seen it happen with my own two eyes! Thinking about the possibility of a disaster limited my ability to put all of my faith in the bridge.

While I’m not scared to cross physical bridges anymore, this is analogous for the way I sometimes relate to God.

I struggle with trusting God. A lot. Mainly, I struggle to find assurance of salvation. I think that my walk of faith is a lot like crossing a bridge. If I’m looking around (especially looking down), thinking about how far I would fall if the bridge gave way, or if I tripped off the bridge in a freak accident (ok, now you’re really thinking I’ve lost my marbles :P), I will not be able to cross the bridge with ease. I’ll be tentative and terrified all the way across.

In the same way, the reason I struggle to trust God, and the reason I doubt the genuineness of my faith, is because oftentimes as I’m “crossing the bridge of faith”, I’m trusting in myself. Looking inward and trusting in my own abilities then causes me to look downward, fearing how far I could fall out of the grace of God if I don’t “shape up.” I’m afraid because “I’m not good enough”; thus, I am not confident because “He is enough.” Does that make sense? In the same way that I will not have any fear of crossing bridges if I don’t look around and let my mind wander into fear as I go, trusting completely in the bridge itself, so I will not fear for my eternal security as long as I am not trusting in myself instead of Him as I “walk the bridge of faith.”

So, I ask you: are you feeling inhibited, scared, and vulnerable in your faith? If so, I submit that you’re probably not fully trusting God. Ask Him to give you confidence in His perfect character and promises, and then you can run – perhaps even skip sometimes – across “the bridge”, resting in your Father all the way. He is enough for your every weakness.

Hebrews 6.17-20
When God desired to show more convincingly to the heirs of the promise the unchangeable character of his purpose, he guaranteed it with an oath, 18 so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us. 19 We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain,20 where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf, having become a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

