Loving People vs. Needing People

I was recently blessed by a helpful insight from a friend.  He was talking about how he cultivates a passion for evangelism, and he made the point that it is easier for him to feel a sense of urgency to tell his unbelieving friends about Jesus when he loves them rather than feeling like he needs them.  That’s so true for me, too.  I won’t talk about Jesus with my unbelieving friends if I’m more concerned about keeping their friendship or avoiding an awkward conversation than I am about their souls.  However, if I rec0gnize that there is only one relationship that I “need”, and that is with Jesus Christ, then I will go to any length to honor Him and spread His gospel in my other relationships, even at the expense of their respect.  I don’t have to be afraid about awkward situations, or even perhaps jeopardizing a friendship.  Proverbs 18.24 says that “there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”  And unlike earthly relationships, a life devoted to developing a relationship with that God will satisfy us more deeply than any other life we can pursue.  He is the only One that we need.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

