Lessons in Pain and Relief

I recently had an ordeal in which I felt a lot of pain for quite a while.  Then, like a flash, relief came.  It was striking to me that in my relief, I was genuinely thankful not to be in pain.  I had not been in pain only a few hours previously, but I had taken comfort for granted then.

What changed?

God showed me that what changed is that in my pain, I had experienced in small measure what I deserved to feel, but would never feel, because Jesus absorbed all the wrath of God on my behalf.  And in my relief, I had experienced in small measure what I will undeservedly feel because of the same gospel truth.  My comfort was made sweeter in contrast to my suffering, in the same way that my living by grace as a believer is made sweeter in contrast to the punishment that I deserve to endure apart from Jesus’ grace.

What a great lesson to be reminded of!  Fellow believers, take the opportunity in both your pain and your relief to worship Jesus.  Both are pointers in their own way to what He has been saved us from and what He has saved us for by giving His life for us.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

