Conviction

You know how there’s a way to talk about sin that ends up glorifying the sinner?  I know that I’ve sat in small groups before and weakly asked for prayer that God would help me kill sin in my life, while not necessarily having in mind any specific sins.  Sometimes I just say that because it sounds good.  It makes me sound like a real saint, a true get-my-hands-dirty kind of resilient believer.  I don’t want to write another general post about sin that doesn’t end up communicating anything of importance, or leaves an excuse for that sort of complacency.

See, true conviction is not fun.  True conviction does not glorify the sinner.  I know.  The ways that the Holy Spirit reveals sin in my heart are never what I would choose.  He uses people to speak hard truth to me that I don’t want to hear.  He strips me of my defenses and leaves me vulnerable.  I can’t hide when God is trying to teach me something.  And I was thinking tonight that, as paradoxical as this sounds, it is a wonderful thing that He uses unpleasant means to bring about an awareness of sin in my heart.

Hebrews 12.7-8 says,

“It is for discipline that you have to endure. God is treating you as sons. For what son is there whom his father does not discipline? If you are left without discipline, in which all have participated, then you are illegitimate children and not sons.”

Be encouraged if you’re feeling the sting of conviction right now.  It’s all for love’s sake that your Father chastises you.  And later in that same chapter, Hebrews 12.11 points out that you’ll come out on the other side of divine discipline acting and thinking even more like Jesus.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

