Have you ever…?

Have you ever known that you should bear witness to the name of Jesus, but you failed to do it?  Peter did.

Have you ever wondered where God is or why He’s doing what He’s doing?  David did.

Have you ever wondered if life is even worth living?  Paul did.

Have you ever tried so hard to stay awake in fervent prayer to God, but you still succumbed to exhaustion?  Peter, James, and John did.

Have you ever thought that you knew better than God what is the best course of action for your life?  Moses did.

Have you ever felt anger towards God?  Jonah did.

And so have I.

…And consider the faithfulness of YHWH to these men who were faithless so often.  My hope, and yours, is rooted in who He is, not who we are.

I pray that the Lord would give me a greater zeal to rest in His faithfulness and seek His beauty in the face of my humanness than even the zeal to fight the sin in my life.  The one will follow the other, anyway (John 14.15-17).  My only hope is that He saves needy sinners.  Rejoice with me, believer!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “Have you ever…?”

  1. Courtney says :

    PRAISE GOD! I’m so thankful those stories are in the Bible. To show our unfaithfulness and God’s faithfulness. Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

