YHWH: Indescribable and Knowable

Heyyy WordPress!  It’s been a looong time.  Well here I am, still alive and kickin’.  I’ve been thinking lots of thoughts lately, which I hope to dump onto this site over the course of some weeks, or perhaps months.  That means that there are some long posts in the works. =)

What I’m about to say may or may not be wholly accurate, but I think there may be some truth in it: That is, it seems that one of the biggest struggles that believers have is finding joy in the Word of God.  It’s a struggle that I certainly have, and I’ve talked to a lot of people who have said the same thing.  I don’t have all of the answers to this problem, since I haven’t overcome the struggle by any means.  But this past weekend, a thought hit me that will perhaps bless you as it blessed me.  And don’t worry if it seems off-topic right from the start; I’ll come full-circle.

My family got to spend the weekend leading up to the fourth of July hanging out about two hours north of Duluth, enjoying the beauty of Lake Superior in northern Minnesota.  It was truly a fantastic and restful few days.  We got to spend a lot of time around gigantuous bodies of water, waterfalls, trees as far as you could see, beautiful clear blue skies, and lots of wildlife.  For me, it takes being in a setting like that to truly be awed by the fact that God spoke creation into existence, and upholds it all by His word (Hebrews 1.3).  I kept thinking how great God is, that He would be able to command all of that from nothing at all.

Think about it.  Every second, 3,200 gallons of water crash over the Grand Portage waterfall (one of the natural resources that we got to enjoy up north).  Thousands of trees are growing right this very second in northern Minnesota.  Billions of insects are still breathing because YHWH is giving them breath.  And all of that that I just described is occurring in one corner of one state in one country in one continent on one planet in one of millions of galaxies, each one containing billions of stars, of which earth is by no means the biggest.  And think about us.  You.  I mean, there are 6 billion people inhabiting earth, and we have a ton of uninhabited land.  You could fit a lot more people on this planet if you crammed them on here.  We are very, very, very, small.  But more importantly to understand, GOD IS VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY BIIIIIG!!!!  The Bible says that God created it all by speaking.  How awesome must a God like that be!?

Now, let’s relate that to where this post started.  I think that one of the reasons I find the Bible boring is that I find the God who spoke the Bible into existence boring.  This is to my shame.  I’ve lost sight of the indescribableness of God, and so I often try to stuff Him into my own little box, with all of my human limitations, and then all of a sudden, He’s boring to me.  If He’s just another sinner, then He’s nothing of consequence. BUT, when I realize how awesome He is, so much more awesome than I can comprehend, then He becomes infinitely exciting.  All of a sudden, I’m left worshipping a God who I could never exhaust, never know completely, no matter how hard I try.  I’ll always be learning something new and exciting about this God.

But you can’t simply have an indescribable God.  If your God is simply indescribable, it’s gonna be depressing.  You’ll feel like nothing but a failure in His presence.  What you need is a knowable God.  A God who makes Himself accessible and understandable to mere humans.  And that’s what we have in Christ!

“Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.” – Philippians 2.5-8

“Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are,yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” – Hebrews 4.14-16

Now we see the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ (2 Corinthians 4.6).  And He has made Himself known and knowable to everyone who puts their faith in Him.

That’s what makes reading the Bible worth it.  It’s not gonna bless you if you’re just reading out of duty or trying to make a good impression on your friends and family.  It’s only gonna bless you if you are reading to know God more deeply.  It’s no wonder you’re struggling to love the Word of it’s just words on a page!  But if it becomes the gateway to the most satisfying relationship that exists, with the most satisfying and amazing being there is, who has made Himself known and knowable to you, THEN it’s worth it to read the Bible.

It’ll probably be a struggle your entire life… but if you see yourself pursuing a relationship rather than checking spiritual boxes, you may find that you actually can’t get enough of God’s Word.  I’d like to find out if that’s true.

Jesus said, “You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that bear witness about me…” (John 5.39).”

Jesus won’t be waiting at heaven’s gates to read your Bible reading report and let you into heaven based on what He reads.  So if you’ve trusted Christ, don’t doubt your salvation because of this post.  But I think this understanding of reading the Bible to pursue a relationship could change my perception of the Bible.  True, I will never gain acceptance with God through anything that I do.  But as I truly understand the magnitude of what this indescribable God has done to make Himself knowable to me, suddenly I’ll find myself desiring to know Him more and more through His Word!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

