Fascinating Imagery

We should consider the imagery of the Bible more often.  I think that Biblical authors make fascinating uses of visual illustrations.  But the particular instance I’m thinking of came out of God’s mouth.

I was reading Isaiah 41 the other day.  Think with me about verses six and seven.

Everyone helps his neighbor and says to his brother, “Be strong!”  The craftsman strengthens the goldsmith, and he who smooths with the hammer him who strikes the anvil, saying of the soldering, “It is good”; and they strengthen it with nails so that it cannot be moved.

What do you think that means?  I have some rough thoughts about it, but nothing that I’m confident about just yet.  I was hoping to generate some discussion around these verses to see if we might come to any conclusions together.

All of that to say, though, that I definitely think symbolism in the Bible is underrated.  Oftentimes I find myself skipping over a visual illustration that I don’t understand at first glance, instead of pausing to think about why the author chose to phrase it the way he did.

So along with answering my question about these verses, what is some other symbolism in the Bible that you treasure, and why?  How has the helped you to grow in your faith and understand God better?  Do you find, like me, a tendency in yourself to ignore symbolism?  I’m working to fight that tendency in myself, and see what nuggets of truth God might have for me through His Word that I missed before.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

