Holy Idolatry

How do earthly idols affect my soul?  They generally consume me.  I can’t get enough of them.  I think about them constantly.  I plan my life around them.  They dominate my free time.

According to the Ten Commandments, the reason idols are so sinful is because they take the place of God in our hearts.  So doesn’t it stand to reason that we ought to have the same passion for God that we have for any other idol in our hearts?

Maybe most Christians take that idea for granted, but those were some thoughts that really stuck out to me the other day as I was thinking and praying about certain idols in my heart.  I wonder why I so rarely consider that I can have the same passion for God that I have for my idols?  I can (and ought to) treat my relationship with God like I treat my idols.

In case you may raise the objection, I don’t think it’s sacrilegious to compare God to earthly idols.  In my experience, whatever earthly idol I have does become my god.  If only I would keep YHWH on the throne of my heart…

I’ll bet that’s the level of passion that David was dealing with when he wrote Psalm 63.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

2 responses to “Holy Idolatry”

  1. Courtney says :

    I was just going through here because I definitely haven’t been on here in a long time. This was so encouraging to me. Challenging, yet encouraging. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

