A New Years’ Poem

Allow me to wish you all a happiest new year!  I’ve written a poem in honor of New Years.  It’s my first attempt at poetry, so don’t laugh too hard. 😀  Enjoy!

Bethink the Blessed Crucifix
By Joe Eaton

He screamed and stumbled forth again
His brow decrepit
Back stained red
The pain coursed cruelly through His frame
He thought, ‘Why did I
Yield to them?’

Yet all the while He understood
His journey on this
Path was good
For ceaseless joy was on His mind
Joy of an other-
worldly kind

‘I go,’ breathed He, ‘for glory’s sake
The fame of God, my
Father’s name
For when I rise in victory
His pow’r o’er evil
Will be seen’

He pondered on, ‘For love I go
So that this joy-starved
World will know
Eternal bliss is found in Me
Not friendship, food, or
Anything’

‘I go that in Me they’d find rest
A peace in knowing
Even when
The world does hold them up to shame
In darkest hour, I’ll
Ne’er forsake’

And as He laid still on the beams
The nails came closer
And they seemed
To taunt Him with unceasing bane
‘We’ll break you ‘fore your
Prize is gained!’

Though He was was silent, be not fooled
He would have been loosed
With one word
Yet as the God-man writhed in pain
He closed His eyes and
Prayed for them

‘My God, don’t let them be destroyed
By Satan’s wicked
Snares and ploys
Don’t let them fall for lesser things
Abiding not sole-
ly in Me’

And so, in two thousand eleven
I’m praying
That we’d long for heav’n
More fervently than breath itself
That hope sustaining
Us ’til death

That we would love Him more and more
The One who
Died for us to show
Where teeming happiness won’t fade:
To know and glori-
fy His name

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

2 responses to “A New Years’ Poem”

  1. Bethany says :

    Wow. This is beautiful Joe. You have a gift for words. Thanks!

  2. Courtney says :

    I finally read that (it only took me how long? :D). I’m not laughing at all. That was gorgeous. I absolutely love it. Thanks for writing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

