The Unforgivable Sin

Therefore I tell you, her sins, which are many, are forgiven—for she loved much. But he who is forgiven little, loves little.” ~ Luke 7.47

This verse is commonly understood in evangelical circles.  I teach Sunday School to Junior High students, and our lesson this week deals with how Christians ought to show mercy, because they have been shown mercy in Christ.

It’s a simple truth, foundational to the gospel, but God really encouraged me this week as I pondered new ways to communicate this truth.

So, here’s one way to think about it: It is humanly impossible to forgive the greatest sin on one’s mind.  Monstrous sin was not meant to be swept under the proverbial rug.  If a person punches you in the face, or spreads a nasty rumor about you, the natural response is to be angry and hurt.  A person who is angry and hurt cannot forgive.

The only way to forgive someone’s offense against you is to have a bigger offense on your mind to eclipse that sin.  Namely, to feel the weight of your sin against God.  Then, try to wrap your mind around the forgiveness that is found in Christ.  You won’t be able to grasp it, but just try.

Only then is forgiveness possible.  You can look a terrible offense square and the face and cover it with genuine forgiveness, simply because you’re so happy to be found forgiven in Christ before God!

I wrote this with a lot of “you’s”, but I meant it for my heart.  I want to be the kind of person who is so enamored with the cross that I lavishly and endlessly forgive.  That’s a heart change that only God can create.

Father, make it so!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

