Goodbye, WordPress?

Mhmm.  It’s true.  I’ve decided to delete this blog.  Maybe someday down the road, I’ll start up another one; who knows, it might even have a similar purpose as this one!  This is not my last post.  I have one more to write, although I’m not entirely sure what it will say yet.  I’ll probably remove this site a week or so after I post next.  Maybe then I’ll also have a bit more to say along these lines.  In the mean time, I thought it might be helpful to give a few reasons for my decision (especially in light of this post).

First of all, it takes a good amount of time to think of material and put it into intelligible form.  Blogging didn’t used to take up too much time, but the less time I have (and it gets less and less as time goes on), the more I need to conserve the time that I get.  It’s not that I’m going to stop writing; not by a long shot.  I have several writing projects on my mental horizon that I’m thinking and praying hard about!  Those projects are also a big part of why I’m going to delete this blog.

Another aspect of this change comes out of a growing desire to simplify my summer.  I have no doubt that my life (both writing and otherwise) is going to pick up once again in the fall.  But for now, I have so many relationships to keep up with and places to go and projects to tackle that I have to cut certain things out; this blog seems like a logical thing to cut.  I won’t be home for a good portion of this summer, either, so I will continue to be a very poor updater, as I have been for many months. 😛

I’ve made it clear that writing, in some form, is important for believers.  I still believe that.  So why should I get rid of this blog?  Mainly, I’m coming to the conclusion that, for a time, I need to direct my creative energy to other places, and spend more time pouring into other projects besides writing, and also to pray about how God would have me use my talents as a writer.  I don’t feel that this contradicts anything I’ve said in other posts, since I will never stop writing!

By the way, if you’re thinking of starting a blog (and you know I wouldn’t discourage that :-)), WordPress would be a very, very good choice!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

5 responses to “Goodbye, WordPress?”

  1. Judah says :

    Those all sound like excellent reasons to delete this blog… Even though it’ll be sad to see it go! I fully enjoyed reading your thoughts/convictions… etc. on important spiritual matters! Your unwillingness to settle for the status quo has been encouraging to me.
    Do Hard Things and DWYL!

  2. Rebecca Vold says :

    That’s so sad! I’ll miss your posts! But I understand 🙂 I hope summer is treating you well!

  3. Courtney says :

    Sad day! I’m going to miss all your insights into things. It’s been very convicting reading your blog….

  4. cdayers says :

    Joe – Just an FYI – you might want to keep the blog up even though you don’t write on it because once you delete it – the domain name is gone forever. If you ever wanted to resurrect this blog -you could not do so once you delete it. Just a thought. It has been fun reading what God has laid on your heart. There are some who have blogs that do not bring glory to God like you have done.

Leave a Reply

