Oh, How He Loves Us!

You have to check out the sermon that I heard at Bethlehem Baptist Church this past Sunday.  John Piper preached on the love that God has for His children through the gospel, and sought to show how He makes much of us for His glory alone.  It was a timely message for me in so many ways.  You can watch, listen to, or read the sermon at this website.

Here is an excerpt from this message.  If you’re feeling unloved by God today…if you’re feeling unsaved by His grace today…I hope you will take this message to heart.  Look away from yourself.  Look to Jesus.  Look to Jesus.  Look to Jesus.  And when you feel like your eyes are going to fall out of your face from looking, look to Jesus again!  Salvation is in His cross.  Nowhere else.

[The new birth is] not having all the same desires that you had as an unregenerate person, and just getting them from a new source. The new birth changes the bottom, the root, the foundation of what makes us happy. Self at the bottom is replaced by Jesus. God, himself.  What makes the born-again person glad is not at bottom that they have God’s gifts, but that they have God…The reason this is greater love is that self, no matter how glorified by God (Romans 8.30), will never satisfy a heart that is made for God. God loves you infinitely. He sent his Son to die that he might have you, and that you might have him (1 Peter 3.18). He will not let you settle for wonderful and happy thoughts of self. Not even a glorified self. He will not let your glory, which he himself creates and delights in, replace his glory as your supreme treasure…Glory in this. Take heart from this. Rejoice in this. Be strengthened by this. You are precious to God, and the greatest gift he has for you is not to let your preciousness become your god. God will be your God. God alone forever. And this is infinite love.

I hope these lyrics take on new meaning to your soul today, and that you will rejoice in the fact that God sings over you (Zepheniah 3.17) for His glory and your great joy!

How He Loves
David Crowder

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realise just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

And oh, how He loves us so,
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all

He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves.
Yeah, He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves.

We are His portion and He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes,
If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.
So Heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss,
And my heart turns violently inside of my chest,
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets,
When I think about, the way…

He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves.
Yeah, He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves us,
Oh how He loves.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

2 responses to “Oh, How He Loves Us!”

  1. Rebecca Vold says :

    Thanks for sharing that!!!! I hope you have a wonderful day(:

  2. talithapiper says :

    I love that song!

Leave a Reply

