C.H. Spurgeon – Christ’s Resurrection and Our Newness of Life

HAPPY EASTER!  Jesus Christ has risen indeed!  Check out this awesome word from C.H. Spurgeon, an excerpt from a sermon called Christ’s Resurrection and Our Newness of Life.  Be encouraged about who you are in Jesus if you are wholly trusting Him for the salvation of your soul…because He rose from the dead, conquering sin and death and sickness and Satan on your behalf!

In this parallel of our history with the story of Christ, in our being spiritually raised from the dead, we have a pre-eminent security for future perfection. “He that hath wrought us for the selfsame thing is God, who also hath given unto us the earnest of the Spirit.” If he raised us up when we were dead in sin, will he not keep us alive now that we live unto him? If he called us out of our graves when we were under the bondage of death, will he not preserve us now by the life of him that dieth no more? If the life of God has really been infused into us, who shall destroy it? Hath not our Master said, “I give unto my sheep eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand”? He would not have given us this life unless he had intended to bring it to perfection. As surely as you live by the Father, you live as Jesus does, beyond the range of further death. “Sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace.” Do you tremblingly ask me. “May I not go back unto sin.” Listen to this. It is written in the covenant, “I will put my fear in their hearts, that they shall not depart from me.” The life which is in you springeth up unto eternal life. You shall surely behold his face whose life is already within your breast. What a blessed thing is this! I cannot declare to you the measureless glory of God which I perceive in this quickening of souls unto God; and yet that which I perceive is the bare fringe of the glory. He might have left us to our corruptions, and then at last he would have said, “Bury my dead out of my sight. Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels.” But instead thereof, in his free love he has come in the person of his dear Son and died for us that we might die in him, and he has quickened his Son that we should live in him. Soon he will say, “Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.” Wondrous grace! “He that sitteth on the throne saith, Behold, I make all things new”; and never is he to our hearts more truly on the throne than in this new creation of which we are this day the happy subjects.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

