Perfect Love

1 John 4.18 says that perfect love casts out fear.  The other day I began to think that maybe that verse is getting at the root of fear, as well as how to be rid of it.  Maybe the reason I’m afraid about things is because I’m not focused enough on loving others.  I’m so wrapped into myself that the details of life overwhelm me.  Or maybe, the bigger problem is that I don’t understand the gospel.  I don’t get the weight of who Christ is and what He’s done for me through the cross.  I don’t stop long enough to ponder His beauty and grace, that He would pour such love upon me, a sinner!

I wonder what would happen if I got my eyes off of myself for a while and started focusing on the needs of others instead of my own needs.  I wonder what would happen if I began to actively meditate on what the Word of God has to say about the Father’s perfect love for us.

Maybe then, I would quit being afraid?

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “Perfect Love”

  1. Courtney says :

    Hmmm….this was encouraging and convicting Joe. Thanks so much for writing this.

Leave a Reply

