I have a most persistent Teacher!

This is going to be long…no worries if you don’t even read to the end, I just needed to write it all out. 🙂

When God is trying to teach you something, He never stops mid-lesson.  At least that’s something I’ve been learning this week.  Also, just when you think think you’ve learned what He’s trying to teach you, that might be when He reminds you yet again that you still have a long way to go!

I’ve been somewhat preoccupied lately.  There have been a lot of hard things that have been going on with different people I know, and this week it all kinda hit me afresh.  Sometimes I wonder why God works the way He works.  I know it’s for His glory and my good, but sometimes I sit back and think that if I were running the show, things would be a lot different sometimes!  I have been really distracted about this week, and would’ve much rather taken more time to focus on life…but we had our first quarter final this morning so I’ve had to study hard.  I guess one of the reasons I’ve been burdened lately is that I’m coming to realize is how weak we are, particularly as individuals.  We really need God and need each other.  We can pretend to be self-sufficient and tough, but there comes a point when we need to share our burdens, and others need to help carry the load in prayer.

Strangely enough, God has also used this season of life to show me some different sins in my life that I was blind to because I had become too confident in my own strength.  I thought life was going well and I sorta forgot about leaning on God for a while.  He also opened my eyes to the needs of others and burdened my heart for them.  He showed me that there is so much going on that is out of my control.  I can’t afford to lean on myself.  He even showed me that I was leaning on myself as I prepared for my test this week.  Writing is generally a strong subject for me and I’ve been feeling pretty confident for this.  Well, God saw fit to make some things go wrong last night so that I would be forced to run to Him once again (i.e., I almost lost all my hw…but I found it!).

All of this to say, God is not going to stop teaching you or I until we finally figure out what He wants us to know.  He will do what He has to do to make it plain.  It is hard but I can say in all honesty that it is good!!  And I want to encourage you with that, not discourage you.

This is getting really long so I will close with a passage from scripture.  A friend shared this with me the other night and it encouraged me a whole ton!  I hope it makes your soul happy in Jesus tonight.  Thank you for reading. 🙂

James 4:7-8, 10

Submit yourselves therefore to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you.  Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.  Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will exalt you.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

3 responses to “I have a most persistent Teacher!”

  1. Judah says :

    Wow, that passage is so amazing! I mean, I’ve heard it before, but it just seems to have so much more meaning to me this time. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Btw, that wasn’t a long post at all. 🙂

  2. Talitha says :

    good blogpost.
    Also I really like how your blog is laid out.

  3. Courtney says :

    Thanks for posting that. God’s been teaching me some of the same things too. Hmm….it’s sometimes annoying to keep learning the same lessons over and over and over again, but I know I am so apt to forget that I need to lean on him for everything.

Leave a Reply

