Undeserved Grace: Recapping Awaken ’09

I didn’t deserve the privilege of mentoring such an awesome small group this past weekend.  It was not hard to tell that they really cared about this stuff, and they were passionate about making changes in their lives based on the truths that were proclaimed this weekend.  I was amazed at the depth and transparency of our small group discussions.  We enjoyed a lot of fun together and bonded very well as a group.

I didn’t deserve to sit under such incredible teaching all weekend, either.  We talked through Ephesians 5 this weekend which is all about awakening from spiritual sleep (deadness) and living to new life in Christ.  What changes occur in a regenerate person?  That is the question we sought to answer over four convicting sessions.  So good.  I’ll try to post the audio from the weekend once it goes online!

I didn’t deserve to be surrounded by incredible friends who treasure Christ and love His gospel all weekend.  I love them so much, mainly because I see Christ in every interaction I have with them.  Man, God is doing awesome stuff through these brothers and sisters!  May the flame of His love continue to grow brighter and hotter in each of your lives.

I didn’t deserve to be brought before the throne of God in worship during every single worship-in-song time.  I so appreciated the effort that so many people put into making those times such a blessing, so that each one of us could be brought into His presence at the start of every session.  On Saturday night the worship team experienced some technical difficulties, and certain details didn’t go as planned.  That was one of the highlights of my weekend.  Not because I wanted to see them struggle, but because it reminded me that we don’t worship God because music is beautiful.  We worship God because He is beautiful, and that is true whether the music flows perfectly or powerpoints work.

We didn’t deserve to enjoy a nearly flawless weekend as far as logistics were concerned.  This weekend was so crazy: driving to ice arenas for broom ball, and Como Park, and the mall for supper on Saturday, driving to and from host homes in the mornings and evenings, meal times, etc…and all I had to do was go along for the ride.  God was good to put so many amazing people in charge of this event.

We didn’t deserve to be served so well by the BBC custodial staff and cooks.  From making most of our meals to cleaning up after us in the evenings…man those guys rocked!

We didn’t deserve to be served so incredibly well in our host homes.  They sacrificed so much for us.  They gave up their whole weekend, provided a place for us to sleep, made breakfast for us every morning and drove us to and from church in the morning and evenings.  God blessed me a ton through our host family and I praise Him for them!

We didn’t deserve to see so many hearts awakened to see God’s glory and love His gospel this weekend, but that is exactly the work that God did!  Thank you so much for praying for us…your prayers were heard and answered in incredible ways!  Praise God for all that He did.  Would you join me in praying that our hearts would be continually awakened to see the glory of God and love the gospel?

“Awake, O sleeper,
and arise from the dead,
and Christ will shine on you.

– Ephesians 5:14

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

2 responses to “Undeserved Grace: Recapping Awaken ’09”

  1. Courtney says :

    “We don’t worship God because music is beautiful. We worship God because HE is beautiful.” I like that.

  2. Talitha says :

    very good blog post! I am sad i missed Awaken 09.

Leave a Reply

