It’ll be OK!

Wow, what a day. What a week. Come to think of it, what a month this has been! This morning we had our first test of this year, so I’ve had a chance to reflect on anxiety this week. I’ve learned a few things about anxiety too. First, I’ve learned that it doesn’t help. Have you ever been really, really stressed about something? I’m not sure about you, but that has happened to me a lot in this past month. Every time, I’ve come to realize that freaking out about stuff doesn’t do any good. At the end of the day, my burden is always just as heavy, if not heavier, when I worry. The second thing I’ve learned is that God is so, so, SO sufficient. Every time I take my burdens to God, He picks me up again. Whenever I try to be macho-man and tackle everything, I fail. Whenever I humble myself like the little kid that I am and tell my Father that I don’t know anything and I need His help, He shows up! He provides the strength I need to go on, and shows me the pettiness of my worries in light of how huge He is!

God has encouraged me with two texts this week. This post is getting long so I’ll send y’all to another page. Psalm 46 has always been one of my favorite Psalms. I love how God shows Himself so powerful over all evil and nature, etc. in this Psalm. Then last night, a friend told me I needed to read Philippians 4 when I really started to stress out. I read it this morning and it helped a ton! The worst thing that can happen when you’re worried is to focus on your worry. The encouragement comes when you run to a God who is so much bigger than you and who already conquered sin and death and sickness and Satan through Jesus Christ.

So. Are you worried? Do you feel like life is swallowing you? Are you trapped by self-focus? I highly encourage you too 1) Run to Jesus! He already knows your pain and desires to help you. 2) Ransack the Scriptures. Have several favorite passages that you can read at any time to diffuse your fear. We all need to look away from ourselves more often! 3) Talk to godly friends whom you trust about your fears. I promise they will encourage you so much and help direct your focus where it ought to be!

Whatever you’re facing, whatever you’re feeling, I want you to know that you’re going to be OK. You will. You will. Why?  Because God is on your side.  And “If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31).  God bless you guys!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “It’ll be OK!”

  1. Courtney says :

    I’m commenting. I love Psalm 46 a ton too. I actually just finished memorizing it. So encouraging. And Philippians 4 has gotten me through many tests and emotional breakdowns before tests. 🙂

Leave a Reply

