Hiya, WordPress! It’s been a while!

The main reason I haven’t blogged in a while is because I have been so crazy BuSy!!  I’m writing to assure you all that I am still here and my life is amazing right now.  God is giving me a love for my studies and my brothers and sisters in the INSIGHT program.  Life is challenging and hectic but God is so good!  Anyway, here’s a really long and really good quote from John Piper from his book When I Don’t Desire God. I couldn’t decide where to cut it so I didn’t. 🙂  It’s so encouraging to me in this joy-sucking world in which we live…

There will always be more of God to enjoy…In this age that is frustrating. We kick ourselves that our cravings  for lesser things compete with God as the satisfaction of our souls.  Rightly so. This is a godly grief. We do well to be convicted and penitent…But the truth that the finite soul will always want more of God than it presently experiences will not be frustrating in the age to come. Then when we are perfected and have our resurrection bodies, the longings that remain will not be because sin is competing with God for our affections. Rather the reason will be that finite minds cannot receive the fullness of infinite greatness and glory. It must be given in (glorious but manageable) increments every day for eternity. In the age to come, desire for more of God will never be experienced with impatience or ingratitude or frustration. All desire in the age to come will be the sweetest anticipation, rooted ever more deeply in the enlarging memories of joy and in the ever-gathering pleasures of gratitude. God will not take from us the pleasure of anticipated pleasures. He will heighten it. He will give us for all eternity the perfect intermingling of present pleasure and anticipation of future pleasure. Anticipation will be stripped of all frustration. Its ache will be a wholly pleasant ache.

Praise God for the hope of heaven!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

