The Caged Lion

Towards the end of class yesterday we discussed a quote from Charles Spurgeon.  He said, “The Gospel is like a caged lion; it does not need to be defended, just released.”  That quote really stuck out to me.  Do you know what scares me most about evangelism?  It is the fear that I don’t know enough, I’m not bold enough, I’m not clever enough, I don’t know all the answers.  I feel insufficient to witness about Christ.

What a glorious thing that the gospel is all about Jesus Christ.  What a glorious thing that I cannot change anyone, for better or worse!  I am nothing.  If a person comes to faith in Christ, it’s not because I spent time destroying their worldview before I told them about my own.  It’s because Jesus Christ is beautiful, and His beauty invaded their hearts and captured their affections.  He is the only one with the power to change hearts anyway!  All I need to evangelize is Jesus.  Nothing else.

Is it not so encouraging, then, that Jesus said He will be with us, even to the end of the age (Matthew 28:20)?

Classes have started and are going well.  Thank you for praying for us!  It’s a big adjustment for everyone, but we’ve gelled in an amazing way already and the peace of God is ruling our hearts.  Continue to pray that we would glorify God as we settle into our routine! 🙂

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “The Caged Lion”

  1. Courtney says :

    See…I told you you’d have time to write on your blog. Or maybe I didn’t tell you that. Maybe I just thought about it or I dreamed I told you. Well, whatever the matter, this was encouraging to me!

Leave a Reply

