Do Not Grow Weary in Doing Good

Our church has done the Fighter Verse program for many years.  They are weekly verses that the whole church memorizes at the same time that help one fight the fight of faith.  This week’s verse was Galatians 6:9 – “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

My dad brought up a great point about this verse.  He said that the reason many people “grow weary in doing good” is that they don’t think they will “reap” any benefits.  They seemingly invest their lives in doing good and can’t tell if they are making any impact at all.

But what if we really believed God’s promise that “in due season we will reap, if we do not give up”?  What if we really understood that God will do just what He says He will do?  What if we could see the person the person who God may be pleased to draw to Himself because of our work?  What if we could look ahead on their lives and see all of the impact they will make for the glory of God?  Wouldn’t that change the way we do ministry?  Wouldn’t we pour ourselves into the job God has given us with far more intensity and joy?

That truth was a big encouragement to me this week as we did our 7th annual Backyard Bible Club.  It’s not always easy to see the fruit of preaching the gospel to Jr. Highers (where my dad and I and another friend served).  But God encouraged me with one kid in particular named Cooper.  I could see God working in his heart over the week and I am so grateful for that.  It would be great if you could pray that God would continue to open His heart to the gospel!  God opened our eyes further to the beauty of the gospel.  I praise Him for working in Cooper’s heart and in each of us.  I felt His grace on me as I taught all four days, even though I didn’t always feel completely prepared.  If there’s one thing I learned this week, it’s that Jesus doesn’t need our polished performances to make ministry work.  All He needs is willing hearts.  We need to trust that He will reap a harvest from our weak efforts!

Courtney and Kyle arrived safely from Guatemala, and I could see the joy of the Lord sustaining them throughout the week.  It was a great joy to serve with them and to hear about the amazing things God did in another part of the world these past weeks!

So thank you all for praying for us.  This was a tremendous week and God was so much more gracious to us than we deserved!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

