Three variations of the 3.30 mentality

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about John 3:30, where John says, “[Christ] must increase, but I must decrease.”  Christians ought to pray this verse often.  But I’ve realized lately that this ought to be more than a compartmentalized prayer that we offer to God at different points of the day.  This needs to be a mentality.  This ought to change the way we live!  Therefore, I’m calling this idea the “3.30 mentality.”  God is glorified when we live this way!  There are countless variations of the 3.30 mentality, and I’d like to share three of them with you now.

The first variation is a song by Steven Curtis Chapman.  I’ve decided that these are some of my favorite lyrics ever. 🙂

Much of You
Steven Curtis Chapman

How could I stand here
And watch the sun rise
Follow the mountains
Where they touch the sky
Ponder the vastness
And the depths of the sea
And think for a moment
The point of it all was to make much of me
Cause I’m just a whisper
And You are the thunder and

I want to make much of You, Jesus
I want to make much of Your love
I want to live today to give You the praise
That You alone are so worthy of
I want to make much of Your mercy
I want to make much of Your cross
I give You my life
Take it and let it be used
To make much of You

And how can I kneel here
And think of the cross
The thorns and the whip and the nails and the spear
The infinite cost
To purchase my pardon
And bear all my shame
To think I have anything worth boasting in except for Your name
Cause I am a sinner
And You are the Savior

I want to make much of You, Jesus
I want to make much of Your love
I want to live today to give You the praise
That You alone are so worthy of
I want to make much of Your mercy
I want to make much of Your cross
I give You my life
Take it and let it be used
To make much of You

This is Your love, oh God
Not to make much of me
But to send Your own son
So that we could make much of You
For all eternity

I want to make much of You Jesus
I want to make much of Your love
I want to live today to give You the praise
That You alone are so worthy of
I want to make much of Your mercy
I want to make much of Your cross
I give You my life
Take it and let it be used
To make much of You

I want to make much of You
Much of You Jesus

I’d also highly encourage you to check out a sermon about John 3:22-30 that was recently preached by my pastor, John Piper.  You can watch, listen to, and/or read the whole sermon or 2 1/2-minute excerpts of it from this page of Desiring God’s website.  It is well worth the time investment!

Finally, another great articulation of the 3.30 mentality is a blog post that one of my friends wrote recently.  It was also inspired by the same sermon I just referenced.  Anyway, she articulates this mindset in a clear and Biblical way.  It’s not long so I’ll let you read it if you want rather than sharing an excerpt. 🙂

I pray that God would open my eyes wider to the fact that I’m not on this earth for me.  My life is hidden with Christ in God (Colossians 3:3) so that His power could be displayed in my weakness (2 Corinthians 12:8-9).

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “Three variations of the 3.30 mentality”

  1. cthruthematrix says :

    I’ve never heard that song by SCC before!! I’m going to look on iTunes for it. =)

Leave a Reply

