What If God’s People Prayed?

“…if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.”

2 Chronicles 7:14

As I mentioned briefly in my last post, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the power of prayer.  It’s striking how easy it is to overlook prayer, even though Jesus Himself needed to pray.  The more I read the Bible, the more I come to understand the importance of prayer.  Make no mistake; God doesn’t need us to pray to Him.  However, we need to pray to Him!  The reason is because the enemy, Satan, is a roaring lion seeking someone to devour (1 Peter 5:8).  He is s.h.o.o.t.i.n.g us with “arrows” (Psalm 91:5).  But consider what God inspires David to say earlier in Psalm 91.  “I will say to the Lord, ‘my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust'” (Psalm 91:2, emphasis mine).  Prayer is simply talking to God.  We see that David’s deliverance from the enemy that is spelled out in the rest of the chapter follows his prayer in verse 2.  God doesn’t have to work that way, but He does!  God often acts in response to our prayers.  So, if we really want to be saved from Satan’s arrows (Psalm 91:5)…if we truly don’t want our faith to fail (Luke 22:32)…then you and I must pray!

So here’s what I’ve been thinking of late.  I’m not sure how many people read this blog, but I think it could be an amazing thing if this band of people came together in prayer.  I think we would all be encouraged by what God might be pleased to do.  Do you and I really believe that God will do anything we ask in His name?  (John 14:13)  Why not ask Him, in His name, to act on our behalf?  And why not recruit our brothers and sisters in Him to pray with us?

These ideas could become realities in one of two ways (or both).  You could leave me a comment with a prayer request.  That would allow a wider body of people to pray for you too!  Then, if you read a prayer request in the comments, pray for that person!  Or, if you want to contact me individually, you can go to the “Contact” section of this website and fill out the contact form.  Your comment will be sent to my inbox.

Don’t feel like you’re stuck with this commitment if you’re reading this post.  My question is, when we see what GOD can do when we pray, shouldn’t it motivate us to pray? The summer months will present many of us with more free time than we’ve had for a long time.  What better way is there to use our time than to pray?  Let’s ask ourselves: What if God’s people prayed?  Not just individually, but as a community?  What if we would embrace our commonality in Christ and “bear one another’s burdens” as Galatians 6:2 commands?   What might God be pleased to do?  He might be pleased to do far more abundantly than all we can ask or think (Ephesians 3:21).  Shall we find out together?

How can we pray for you? 🙂

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

2 responses to “What If God’s People Prayed?”

  1. Evie says :

    I love the idea of community prayer. Prayer is powerful . I do have a prayer request, please pray for our local church, and God knows the details . Thank you.

  2. Joe says :

    yes we will pray! God knows the details indeed…and His will is going to be done on earth as it is in heaven! (Matthew 6:10)

Leave a Reply

