Standing on the Truth: Our Glorious God – the recap =)

Let me start by saying that God is awesome. 🙂  As a matter of fact, God is GLORIOUS!!  And that was the theme of the CDG 2009 national conference.  I want to tell you all about the amazing things that He did throughout this whole event.  I want to thank you for praying for us; we couldn’t’ve done this thing without the prayer support we received from so many people.  More on that below!  Let’s do this in sections. 🙂

Before the conference

The months leading up to this event were crazy, to say the least.  I was the youth volunteer coordinator, so it was my job to distribute job descriptions to the youth volunteers and get them oriented before the event.  A few of the youth had unexpected things come up the week before the conference or so, which meant that we had to scramble to find some last-minute replacements.  It was obvious that God knew about these complications even before they did.  I praise Him for how He worked through each of the volunteers who were able to be there.  More on that below!  (I’m saving “everything” for “below” :-D)

The conference itself

My jobs at the conference were working with on-site registration on Thursday, ushering at different times throughout the event, and being available for the youth if they had any questions.  There were some minor complications at different points along the way, but God was so good to us!

The Spirit of God manifested Himself in so many ways throughout this conference.  First of all, I saw Him work powerfully through each of the sessions and seminars.  John Piper, Bruce Ware, Paul David Tripp, and David Michael were the plenary speakers.  There were also 23 seminar presenters who gave 37 different seminars.  I saw God encourage, convict, and embolden MANY people because of the plenary sessions and seminars.  To sum up the point of the conference in a question (which was never actually asked by the speakers): “Because God is glorious, how should we do ministry?”  The point is, if God and only God is able to replace hearts of stone with hearts of flesh…if God and only God is able to encourage people through our lives when we have nothing left to offer them…why shouldn’t we be utterly dependent on God and ONLY God to do that great work in each of our lives and ministry contexts for His glory?  I believe that many people were moved to lean on God harder than ever before in their ministries.  The conference audio/video will soon be on the DG blog, and I will let you know when it’s up.

I also saw God powerfully at work in our volunteers.  I worked closely with the youth volunteers, and I am far from exaggerating when I tell you how much I was blessed through their service.  I know that God did a work in them that I could never have done.  I had attendees coming up to me and complimenting me on their service, and all I could think was praise God!  What I saw and what the attendees saw in our volunteers had nothing to do with me or them.  God heard and answered the prayers of His people, and blessed me so much through the youth volunteers in particular.  We were so tired that at times we had very little left to give to the attendees.  But God never grows tired and He loves to work in spite of weakness.  I praise Him for every one of our volunteers and what He did through them!  If you’re reading this, THANK YOU!! =)

Do any of you volunteers/anyone else who was there want to share what YOU saw God do through this event?

What I take away from this event

I’ve been thinking a lot about prayer over the past few weeks.  What’s interesting about prayer is that God doesn’t NEED us to pray.  However, God HAS ordained that when His people pray, things happen.  It’s clear in scripture that if God does not act on our behalf, we will fail miserably at whatever we do.  That’s why we need to cover these events in prayer.  Each of our volunteers had several names of attendees to pray for in the weeks preceding this event.  We also had a list of other prayer requests for the conference.  That’s why this event succeeded.  God was there.  I am convinced that prayer is the greatest thing we can do for any event.  We can plan all we want, but we will fail if God is not involved.  So, once again I THANK YOU for partnering with CDG in prayer for this conference.  Your prayers were heard and answered.  Since the conference I’ve simply been asking myself:

What would happen if we spent more time in prayer for our churches, youth groups, and other ministry contexts, than trying to “work” to make them “better”?  What radical transformation would we see across this nation and around this world if we simply acknowledged our weaknesses and let God show His power through us?

I want to find out.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “Standing on the Truth: Our Glorious God – the recap =)”

  1. Hannah Marie says :

    God IS glorious! Wow, what amazing things He has done. Praise God.

Leave a Reply

