Don’t Forget the Tunnel!

You’ve probably noticed that this post and my last post have had metaphorical titles. I’m not really encouraging you to remember physical water or a physical tunnel. 🙂  These things are symbolic of lessons that God has been teaching me recently, and I hope that the word pictures that I’ve been sharing with you have been helpful.

I’m sure you’ve heard the expression “there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.”  It’s true.  The Bible says it clearly in Psalm 30:5b: “Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.”  If you’re suffering right now, chances are you’ll realize relief to some degree sometime on this earth.  And of course, the Bible talks about our future in heaven as believers all the time.  That ought to give us hope.

The problem is that many people (I’m definitely included) get so wrapped up in this idea that “there’s a light at the end of the tunnel” that we completely forget that oftentimes the sweetest lessons that God has to teach us are revealed while we’re still in the tunnel!  Oftentimes, pain and suffering is the best teacher that we can have.  I’m just wondering, if the majority of life is lived in “the tunnel” anyway, what do we miss by overlooking the opportunities that are afforded to us by God while we’re there?  Someday I will write about what God has shown me about His sovereignty in my disability.  Suffice it to say for now that I have seen this truth firsthand.  It is not always easy to live with physical challenges.  But in the midst of “this light, momentary affliction”, I know that I have been drawn much closer to God than I ever would’ve been if I was not gifted with a disability.

Some of you are very close to graduation.  I’m there too, and I’m completely ecstatic!  I’ve been spending the majority of this semester looking ahead at college plans for the fall.  That’s certainly not bad in itself.  But I’m sobered when I consider what blessings I may have missed because I forgot to focus on the lessons that God wanted to teach me as I finished my high school course work.  And so as this semester draws to a close, I want to encourage each of you to focus on the moment.  Take your eyes off of the future for a while.  Let God speak to you NOW.  Let God work through you NOW.  If He wills, before long you’ll have another stage of life in which to learn and grow!  That is exciting, and we ought to look forward to it…it’s not wrong!  But as I said in my last post, God is always on the move.  You never know when you’re gonna be encouraged in Him simply because you took a step of faith in obedience to His call today.  He wants us to keep our eyes and ears open at all times, so we won’t overlook what He wants to do in the present.

Don’t miss His blessings today…don’t forget the tunnel!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

Leave a Reply

