Same Blog, New Look/Idea

I’ve been thinking about music lately.  Namely this: it strikes me that there are so many songs out there with incredible messages that get lost for different reasons.  It happens to me all the time.  Whatever the reason, it is becoming commonplace for church-goers to mouth the words of songs without really grasping the depth of what they are singing.  I thought it would be a helpful practice to ocassionally simply post the lyrics to songs that I love.  No music, no worship leader, just the words.  I will not do this for every post, but I will start doing it every once in a while.  I encourage you to think very deeply about each line of these songs.  I further encourage you, next time you’re singing in church, to do your best to block out as many distractions as possible, and simply focus on the message of the song you’re singing.  You may be very encouraged in Christ.  Without further delay…

There is a Fountain
William Cowper 

There is a fountain filled with
  Drawn from Immanuel’s veins;
And sinners, plunged beneath that flood,
  Lose all their guilty stains:
  Lose all their guilty stains,
  Lose all their guilty stains;
And sinners, plunged beneath that flood,
  Lose all their guilty stains. 

The dying thief rejoiced to see
  That fountain in his day;
And there may I, though vile as he,
  Wash all my sins away:
  Wash all my sins away,
  Wash all my sins away;
And there may I, though vile as he,
  Wash all my sins away. 

Dear dying Lamb, Thy precious
  Shall never lose its power,
Till all the ransomed ones of God
  Be saved, to sin no more:
  Be saved, to sin no more,
  Be saved, to sin no more;
Till all the ransomed ones of God,
  Be saved to sin no more. 

E’er since by faith I saw the stream
  Thy flowing wounds supply,
Redeeming love has been my theme,
  And shall be till I die:
  And shall be till I die,
  And shall be till I die;
Redeeming love has been my theme,
  And shall be till I die. 

When this poor lisping, stammering tongue
  Lies silent in the grave,
Then in a nobler, sweeter song,
 I’ll sing Thy power to save:
 I’ll sing Thy power to save,
 I’ll sing Thy power to save;
Then in a nobler, sweeter song,
 I’ll sing Thy power to save.

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

One response to “Same Blog, New Look/Idea”

  1. Courtney says :

    I love that song. Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

