“O God, Save Us From America!”

Last Wednesday night, a man from India named Vijay came and spoke at our youth group.  It was such a good and helpful evening.  I will not go into detail about his testimony, but here is the point I would like to make.

Someone asked Vijay, “What is the one thing you wish Americans could understand?”

Vijay said, “I don’t think Americans in general trust God like people do in other countries.  Americans have so much stuff that it is too easy for them to trust in it rather than trust God Himself.”

This really got me thinking.  Do we Americans really understand what a treasure we have in Christ?  Or are we so caught up in our stuff that we can’t see the Gospel for the treasure that it is?  People in other countries have to find hope beyond material things.  I wonder, are we so comfortable in our technological, easy-going society that we have been lulled into complacency?

Don’t get me wrong.  Stuff is not inherently bad.  These things are gifts from God!  It becomes evil when it distracts us from seeing the Gospel for the treasure that it is.  God often uses wealth to point us to Him.  Essentially, it is how one responds to wealth that is important.  There is a very good reason that Jesus said it is impossible for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven (Luke 18:25).  Material things were never meant to be an end in themselves…they are intended to be pointers to Jesus.

Americans in general are in danger of being ly distracted by materialism in this comfortable society, but this does not have to be so!  I pray that God would rescue us from idolizing our wealth.  I echo the prayer of our youth pastor…

“O God, save us from America!”

May we have a holy discontentment until God blesses us with more of HIMSELF alone!

About Joe Eaton

I praise God that my standing before Him has nothing to do with who I am or what I've done; it is found solely in the perfect life that Christ lived in my place, and His which atoned for my sin. "For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that IN HIM we might become the righteousness of God"..."There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus."

3 responses to ““O God, Save Us From America!””

  1. Judah Olive says :

    I love your post Joe. I agree that here in America stuff gets in the way of Jesus. We have _lots_ of it, and it comes in many forms, and most of us are not willing to give it all up for Him, unfortunately. 😦

  2. Abigail V. says :

    So true.. wonderful post, Joe. We get so much stuff, and start to depend on it. But God is all we need, and all we should really want.

    For example, It’s amazing how soon I became “addicted” to Facebook when I first got it. Maybe I’ll take a FB fast for awhile, sometime soon. (See! I’m procrastinating going off it already). But I’m pretty sure I can do it, if I try. God is all I need, and sometimes things like that just might help me.

    Abigail 🙂

  3. cthruthematrix says :

    “O God, save us from ourselves!” could be another cry. =) America is the embodiment of everything human, shallow, and sensual, like the woman described in Revelation 17. ~Seth O.

Leave a Reply

